Monday, February 20, 2017

The Best and Worst Presidents

The Best and Worst Presidents
Thomas Allen

    Below are my lists of the ten worst presidents beginning with the worst and the ten best presidents ending with the best. Along with the name of the president, his party, years of his term, and a brief reason for inclusion on the list are given.
    The hardest part about compiling these lists was deciding whom to leave off the worst list and whom to include on the best list. These lists are not partisan. Five Republicans and five Democrats are identified as the worst presidents. One Federalist, two Democratic-Republicans, two Whigs, three Republicans, and two Democrats are named as the best presidents.

The Worst Presidents

    1. Abraham Lincoln, Republican, 1861-1865: destroyed the Constitution, caused the death of more than 600,000 men to impose his protective tariff, gave the country legal-tender paper fiat money, established the imperial presidency, commented treason according to the Constitution when he levied war against States that he calmed never left the union, suppressed opposing opinions even with imprisonment without trial.

    2. Franklin Roosevelt, Democrat, 1933-1945: brought fascism to the United States, stole the people’s gold (real money), lied the United States into World War II, recognized the Soviet Union and thus aided Stalin in his tyranny and butchery, gave Eastern Europe (really Central Europe) to the communists, laid the framework for the United Nation and the globalist foreign policy that followed.

    3. Lyndon Johnson, Democrat, 1963-1969: brought the civil rights act, war on poverty, the welfare state, an immigration law that favored non-Whites while discriminating against Whites, and other programs to enslave Blacks and to bring down Whites; enacted the Gun Control Act of 1968; lied the United States into an expanded war in Vietnam; probably the meanest president ever and a co-conspirator in the assassination of Kennedy.

    4. Woodrow Wilson, Democrat, 1913-1921: brought the intervention foreign policy to the United States and thus globalism to America, the federal reserve system, direct election of senators (17th Amendment), the income tax (16th Amendment), and draconian laws in the name of national security; lied the United States into World War I.

    5. George W. Bush, Republican, 2001-2009: allowed 9-11 to happen, established the Department of Homeland Security, with his war on terrorism brought the police state to the United States and sweeping spying on the American people, lied the United States into a war with Iraq, and gave the American people Agenda 21 by which they will lose all control of their property.

    6. Richard Nixon, Republican, 1969-1874: ended the last connection that the dollar had with gold, recognized communist China and, by that, began China’s growth into a major world power, extended the Vietnam War for political purposes, abandoned American-Vietnam-War prisoners of wars in Laos,  adopted guaranteed income, imposed wage and price controls.

    7. Barack H. Obama, Democrat, 2009-2017: destroyed what little the previous presidents had left of the United States; according to the Council on Foreign Relations, “most multilaterally-inclined US administration in history.”

    8. William McKinley, Republican, 1897-1901: lied the country into war with Spain and made the United States an imperialistic country with the Spanish-American War.

    9. Ulysses S. Grant, Republican, 1869-1877: resided over most of Reconstruction with one of the most corrupt governments the country has ever had; brought the Long Depression, 1873-1879, which by some measures was worst than the Great Depression; accepted Sherman’s genocide of the plains Indians; ended the free coinage of silver, i.e., the Crime of ’73 (he claimed that he did so unknowingly, but he did not try to correct the problem once he became aware of it — a problem that was never corrected).

    10. Jimmy Carter, Democrat, 1977-1981: probably the most incompetent president ever, admitted before he was elected that his presidency would be a failure (he said that if any Trilateralists were found in his administration that it would be a failure; then he proceeded to fill his administration with Trilateralists), established the Departments of Education and Energy.

The Best Presidents
    10. James Monroe, Democratic-Republican, 1817-1825: was the last one standing after all the others were eliminated.

    9.  John F. Kennedy, Democrat, 1961-1963: must have had something going for him as the CIA, FBI, military industrial complex, Lyndon Johnson, the Texas oil men, the Israelis, French, South Vietnam (Diem regime), Cubans (Castro), Russians, and others wanted him dead.

    8. Andrew Jackson, Democrat, 1829-1837: ended centralized banking, paid off the national debt.

    7. Warren G. Harding, Republican, 1921-1923: said no to the bankers when they wanted him to intervene to assuage the Depression of 1920-21, which was more intense than the Great Depression, for them; unlike the presidents who followed Franklin Roosevelt, he took the country off a wartime footing; eschewed the imperial pretensions of Woodrow Wilson; launched a disarmament movement that resulted in reducing the world’s navies and the Kellogg-Briand treaty to outlaw war.

    6. John Tyler, Whig, 1841-1845: Abandon the Whig’s government-business partnership philosophy and adopted a strong states’ right philosophy (he became the president without a party).

    5. Rutherford B. Hayes, Republican, 1877-1861: ended Reconstruction, though it was a political deal to give him the presidency at least he kept his word; ushered in returning to the gold standard (although the law to do so was enacted during the Grant administration).

    4. Calvin Coolidge, Republican, 1923-1929: let the country run itself, opposed entering the League of Nations.

        3. Thomas Jefferson, Democratic-Republican, 1801-1809: perhaps had the most frugal government of all presidents, opposed centralized banking.

    2. George Washington, Federalist, 1789-1797: could have been king but chose not to; set a policy of not entering into any entangling alliances; avoided getting involved in the war between Great Britain and France.

    1. William Henry Harrison, Whig, 1841: was not in office long enough to do any damage.

Copyright © 2017 by Thomas Coley Allen.

More Articles on Politics.

No comments:

Post a Comment